The GIS Research UK (GISRUK)
Home Page

The GISRUK conference series is the UK's national GIS research conference, established in 1993. GISRUK conferences are primarily aimed at the academic community. They attract delegates from all parts of the UK, together with the European Union and North America and from disciplines including Geography, Computer Science, Planning, Archaeology, Geology, Geomatics and Engineering.

The GISRUK conferences have the following aims:

* to act as a focus for GIS research in the UK
* to provide a mechanism for the announcement and publication of GIS research
* to act as an interdisciplinary forum for the discussion of research ideas
* to promote active collaboration amongst researchers from diverse parent disciplines
* to provide a framework in which postgraduate students can see their work in a national context

Help us to help you!
If you would like your name to be placed on the GISRUK mailing list, please provide your details here.

The conference moves to a different location each year. Further information about forthcoming conferences is available where links exist:
* GISRUK '15 - University of Leeds
* GISRUK '14 - University of Glasgow [UPDATED!]
Previously, GISRUK has been held at:
* GISRUK '13 - University of Liverpool
* GISRUK '12 - University of Lancaster
* GISRUK '11 - University of Portsmouth (in conjunction with Ordnance Survey)
* GISRUK '10 - University College London
* GISRUK '09 - Durham University (in conjunction with Newcastle and Northumbria Universities)
* GISRUK '08 - Manchester Metropolitan University
* GISRUK '07 - National University of Ireland at Maynooth
* GISRUK '06 - University of Nottingham
* GISRUK '05 - University of Glasgow
* GISRUK '04 - University of East Anglia (Norwich)
* GISRUK '03 - City University
* GISRUK '02 - University of Sheffield
* GISRUK '01 - University of Glamorgan (co-hosted with Cardiff)
* GISRUK '00 - University of York
* GISRUK '99 - University of Southampton
* GISRUK '98 - University of Edinburgh
* GISRUK '97 - University of Leeds
* GISRUK '96 - University of Kent at Canterbury
* GISRUK '95 - University of Newcastle
* GISRUK '94 - University of Leicester
* GISRUK '93 - University of Keele


The following prestigious prizes are awarded annually to recognise quality research and excellent presentation skills:
* Best Paper
* Best Paper by a Young Researcher
* Best Poster
* UCL CASA Prize for the best paper on Spatial Analysis, in memory of Sinesio Alves Junior

Steering Committee

      Jane Drummond            University of Glasgow
      Christine Dunn           University of Durham
      David Fairbairn          University of Newcastle
      Claire Ellul  	       University College London
      Bruce Gittings           University of Edinburgh
      Peter Halls              University of York
      Glen Hart                Ordnance Survey
      Chris Holcroft           Association for Geographic Information
      Kate Jones	       University of Portsmouth
      Nick Malleson            University of Leeds
      Jeremy Morley            University of Nottingham
      Nick Mount               University of Nottingham
      Alex Singleton           University of Liverpool 
      Aidan Slingsby           City University
      Duncan Whyatt            University of Lancaster
      Adam Winstanley          National University of Ireland, Maynooth
Within the Steering Committee, individuals take a lead as the local organiser of current and future conferences, but in addition there are the following roles:
      Chair:                           Bruce Gittings
      Treasurer:		       David Fairbairn	
      Young Researchers' Forum:        Peter Halls
      Publications:                    Nick Mount
      Sponsor Relationship Management: Duncan Wyatt
      Prize Coordination:              Claire Ellul
      AGI Liaison:                     Chris Holcroft & Jeremy Morley

Conference Series Main Sponsors

The GISRUK Steering Committtee are grateful to the Association for Geographic Information, the Ordnance Survey, Taylor & Francis Group and ESRI (UK) for their continued and generous sponsorship of the conference series. The Association for Geographic Information represents all interests which make up the UK geographic information community. The Ordnance Survey is the British national mapping agency. ESRI (UK) is a supplier of GIS software and services. Taylor & Francis are a leading international publisher.

This page is: